National Pancake Day

28 Feb

I’m sure most Americans have heard by now – its National Pancake Day at the International House of Pancakes. That means free food comprised of a lot of flour and a small amount of eggs and dairy, topped with sugar.

Here’s my favorite pancake.

20120228-072523.jpg

It’s a Frittata – baked in a cast iron pan. This is 3 days worth of breakfast.

I always start with a base of sautéed vegetables. I use mixed peppers and onions and then add a green – either spinach or kale.

Once the vegetables are softened, I remove from heat and add 9 eggs. You can also add some cooked bacon or other meat, and cheese if your program allows dairy.

Then bake for 30-35 minutes at 375 degrees.

Starting the morning with a good dose of protein and a serving of vegetables is a great source of energy or recovery from early morning exercise.

One Response to “National Pancake Day”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. IHOP Ain’t Got Nothin’ On These! « FOODTORUM - February 28, 2012

    [...] Day!  What? You didn’t know it was National Pancake Day?  Ok, so neither did I until my buddy Dennis posted about his favorite “paleo pancake.”  I love pancakes!  I’m sure you do too.  I even love pancakes from IHOP, the founder of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

