How Paleo Has Changed My Purchasing

3 Oct

I work in consumer package goods – in fact, I’m an analyst for a beverage company. My job includes reviewing the sales data that we purchase through syndicated sources to help understand the dynamics of the market and why our sales change over time and in reaction to the market.

Let’s rewind to about six years ago. I was the Kashi Company’s (a wholly owned subsidiary of Kellogg’s since 2000) best customer. I recognized that their products – cereals, crackers, and granola bars – were a cut above most of their respective categories. I paid the premium price and felt like I got a better product. The products were made with whole grains, instead of white flour; the products didn’t use high fructose corn syrup for sweetening. The cereal contained substantially more protein than anything else on the cereal aisle.

At the height of my consumption, I was a heavy user of their products.

  • Kashi Go Lean Crunch cereal: 3 boxes per week (15 oz boxes)
  • Kashi TLC Crackers: 1.5 boxes
  • Kashi TLC Granola Bars (Chewy or Crunchy): 1 box per week

Total it up – at average prices, I amassed nearly $1000 in retail spending a year in Kashi products!

I was the shopper who scoured the feature ads from grocery stores and drug stores for when the products I enjoyed so much went on deal and stocked up. At times, there were 30+ boxes of cereal in our pantry.

Over time though, I started to reduce my usage.  The first thing to go was Granola bars, except for retaining them for occasional usage when traveling or in the car.

Crackers had been a fill-in food for me.  I would eat crackers starting at 11 AM on weekdays – it was a fill-in food for me.  I would get hungry from eating breakfast before 6 AM, and need to eat at 11.  Eventually I figured out I could cut this out by eating breakfast at 7 because I wasn’t starving when I woke up.  I also came to realize the crackers were a huge intake of food that had no redeeming quality outside of filling my stomach (temporarily).
Earlier this year, I started to cut back on the Go Lean Crunch.  While I still bought it and consumed it, I started making omelets filled with vegetables on the weekends. This was the beginning of the end of my reliance on the Kashi Company.

Omelets on the weekend yielded Frittatas during the week.  After reading more about the Paleo diet, I quit Go Lean Crunch entirely.

I’ve opened up to new groups of vegetables that I hadn’t considered before – like Okra, Kale, Beets, and Mustard Greens.  I’ve come to find anything can be breakfast – much to the amusement of my two sons.

Great food is out there – and most of it doesn’t have a brand name or a label.

So to my equivalents at the Kellogg Company – my apologies for injecting my quitting your brand.

Leave a Reply

