How I Won the Lily’s Run 5k!

10 Oct

I’ve been battling a sinus infection since Friday morning. I woke up with a clogged head overnight and felt terrible come morning. After going to the doctor and getting prescription, I practiced my teams Friday night and went to bed.

Saturday morning already I felt better. After the two matches for my teams, I came home and took in some college football on Television. I did some cooking with my younger son helping, enjoyed dinner in front of college football, and then fell asleep with my younger son at 8:30. I went to my own bed at 9:30, dosed with Nyquil, and didn’t get up until 7:30 the next day. I rarely sleep more than 8 hours so this was uncommon!

Today I felt a lot better. I still rinsed my sinuses this morning and drank some tea to help me breathe. I got to the race site with about 20 minutes before the scheduled start and did a 1/2 mile warm up from the car to the race starting line.

The starting area of the race was confusing – it was unclear which direction we were supposed to go as we lined up. As always, it would help to have more signs and a race director with a louder bullhorn.  That’s a common race start problem – a lack of volume on the start.

I went out quickly – and was quickly ahead of all of the other starters and started building distance.  The first mile went by in about 6:30, and I stayed on pace from there.  With a route twisting through the Vickery subdivision, I didn’t see much of the race until we doubled back and I saw runners on the outbound leg.

I came down the hill to a great reception from the crowd and my family in Vickery Village.  My first ever overall race win, and my new personal record 5k – 20:20.

After that, I got the pleasure of watching my two sons run a 1 mile fun run.  Aidan (age 7) finished in 7:59 and Evan (age 5) in 8:49.  I was really proud of them both for how they finished the race – at a sprint!

I had to leave before the awards to get to the start of my soccer game at 1:30, but Mandy stayed to claim my first prize – A free pair of shoes from Johns’ Creek Running Store Fleet Feet Sports!  That’s the best prize I’ve received to date for running a 5k.

20111009-204351.jpg

My Runners

3 Responses to “How I Won the Lily’s Run 5k!”

  1. Jodi October 11, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Many congrats to you again! We appreciate you being a part of Lily’s Run and hope you will come back for many years! Joe at Fleet Feet is amazing too! We hope you enjoy your new shoes!! 🙂 Jodi Ford – Kingdom Kids

    • Dennis Murray October 11, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

      Thanks so much for coming by and commenting. I told some Twitter friends that Forsyth County is a great small-town like community. And this event was so well supported by the Vickery, Midway, and Polo area. We saw so many families we’ve shared our kids’ sports teams, classes, teachers, and kids I’ve photographed in sports. I look forward to future years and turning my kids over to the longer race!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fitness Metrics as of November 1, 2011 « Be An Athlete - November 1, 2011

    […] My running highlight was early in the month with my overall race win in the Lily’s Run 5k. […]

Leave a Reply

