Restarting

18 Oct

This weekend was out of the ordinary for me.  Our family traveled to Washington, DC for the wedding of my older brother.  Of course, in the celebration of a wedding…things often go off track nutritionally.

For the last three months, I had given up alcohol as a course of training.  Beginning Friday night, it was back in.  Friday saw tequila and Saturday saw whiskey, wine and champagne.  Good times, but hard on the body.

Sleep was disturbed and no exercise for three days.  I ate okay – no big grain intake (I had a crab cake appetizer at one of the receptions) but overall did well.  I didn’t eat as many vegetables as I do at home.

When I got home Sunday night and after a trip to Publix to restock the refrigerator, I got restarted.  Back on track and back to business.

Today I got out and run for a little while – although with the warm weather I kept it short (3.6 miles).  I’ll be back in the gym tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

