Brussels Sprouts? Yes, They Are Actually Good

22 Nov

Full disclaimer: I grew up in the 80’s, and like most 80’s kids spent a lot of time watching reruns of shows from the 50’s and 60’s.  Frequently on these shows, Brussels Sprouts popped up as the butt of a joke about meals or a kid’s objection to a meal.

Over the two and a half months that I’ve followed Paleo, I’ve brought new vegetables into my rotation.

Kale?  I never ate it before, and now will consume 1/3 of a bag for breakfast.

Bok Choy?  Never ate, but now I’m growing it.

So I figured if I was eating other members of the Cabbage family, why not Brussels Sprounts?  I sought out advice on Google on how to cook the new vegetable – and what I found was a great recipe for Brussels Sprouts that I did some modifications to.

Bacon Roasted Brussels Sprouts

1 pound of Fresh Brussels Sprouts

Prepare the Brussels Sprouts by slicing the stem end off of the vegetable, and then slicing the vegetable in half.  Remove the outermost leaf layer and rinse thoroughly.

4-6 strips of thick cut Pork Bacon

1 teaspoon of Balsamic Vinegar

Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In an oven safe skillet, cut bacon into four pieces per strip and distribute evenly.  Place in oven for about 20 minutes, turning bacon after 10 minutes.  After 15-20 minutes, Bacon fat will be melting and greasing the pan.  The bacon shouldn’t be crisp at this point – just enough to start rendering fat for the sprouts to cook.

Increase oven temperature to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Add sprouts to your pan and turn to coat in the fat.  Place pan back in oven for about 25 minutes.

When done, the sprouts should be fork tender – easily speared.  When this is reached, add vinegar and return to oven for about 5 minutes to caramelize.  Season with salt and pepper to serve.

I think Sprouts got a bad reputation forty years ago due to the canned and frozen food industries.  Bought fresh, and in season and prepared in a flavorful way – it’s a vegetable worth serving!

2 Responses to “Brussels Sprouts? Yes, They Are Actually Good”

  1. Katerina November 29, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Thrilled that my recipe helped you like brussels!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fitness Metrics as of December 1, 2011 « Be An Athlete - December 1, 2011

    […] Diet: Paleo Plus Dairy It’s been about 3 months since I’ve started eating Paleo.  This month, I had only a small amount of wheat on a couple of occasions (between my son’s birthday party and Thanksgiving.) This month had several challenges.  Each of the first three weeks of the month had a two to three day trip and without normal access to food.  I was able during these times to maintain Paleo eating with careful selection of food. The biggest thing is that I’ve maintained keeping cereal out of my breakfast.  Even while on the road, I’ve managed to eat eggs or meats for breakfast without failure. Food variety continues to expand.  I’ve been eating the homegrown Bok Choy from my garden, as well as roasting Brussel Sprouts. […]

Leave a Reply

