Another Running Restart

16 Dec

Wednesday morning I restarted running.  I was staying in midtown Atlanta for a few days for meetings at work, so I decided to get out early and log some miles.

The difference is how I’m going about it this time.  I’m going to give the Marathon Training method described by Mark Sisson on Mark’s Daily Apple a try.

My problem with running lately has been multi-faceted.  I’ve exhausted what I think are the safe routes around my home, and the winter hours (and cooler weather) have made pre-dawn running near work that much more challenging.

So what’s different with my new training?

  • Committing to interval training.  As it happened, I decided to make my first run an interval run.  That is, I alternated pace between a “fast” pace (a roughly 6:00 per mile pace) with a slow/recovery pace of about 7:30-8:00 per mile.  I’m not great at maintaining either pace consistently, but I’m sure that will improve.  On this run, I did 1/2 mile intervals – so I alternated each 1/2 mile.
  • Slowing down on some of my training runs, but combining this with dietary change.  Specifically, I’m going to run being carb-depleted at some points during the week.

But overall, try to keep the training fun!  I’ll need to find some new routes as well as come up with some personal challenges.  I’ll also need to find a new race to train for – since I’ve completed my race calendar for 2011.

3 Responses to “Another Running Restart”

  1. PaleoPeriodical December 16, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    I love how your “slow/recovery pace” is faster than my 5K average pace! 😉 I’m slow, what can I say?

    Will be interesting to see how Mark’s protocol works out. Keep us updated.

    • Dennis Murray December 17, 2011 at 12:18 am #

      I really haven’t run for that long – and I’ve never hit the big mileage that so many persistent runners do! I came at it from being fit already and just worked to build on my fitness with some specific skills.

      I’ll keep updating as I progress!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. That Blood Sugar Drop « Be An Athlete - December 17, 2011

    […] that and come out the other side.  It’s part of how I’m mentally, and physically preparing for my next races – asking my body to reach the same speed in training I have in races, without being fully […]

Leave a Reply

