Time to Get Uncomfortable

14 Jan

Friday our Corporate Wellness Program solicited our New Year’s Resolutions.  I thought about it for a few minutes.

Mostly, I want to continue on the same path I was on in 2011 – but I wanted something tangible to add.  My decision: Compete in at least one running event at the Georgia Games.  While the games aren’t heavily attended in Track and Field, I want to be able to be competitive for the distances I choose.

That’s going to mean committing to training in ways I haven’t been lately – short distance interval sprinting.  First thing’s first – I’ll need to find a training program and get under way for the distances I choose.

I’m leaning towards the 400, 800 and 1500 meter distances.  The 1500 is close to the mile (which I can run fairly well) and the two shorter distances are longer than all out anaerobic sprints of 100 and 200m.  We’ll see once training starts.

Time to go fast.

One Response to “Time to Get Uncomfortable”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Harder Weeks « Be An Athlete - January 19, 2012

    […] did get a few minutes to start researching a training plan for (what I consider) sprint races – I’ve found some good resources like Speed Endurance that I’ll be checking out […]

Leave a Reply

