One Year Review: Nike T90 Laser III

2 Feb

My Nike T90 Laser III cleats hold a distinction for me: they were the first pair of cleats that I purposefully picked out as an adult.

I had bought a pair of Adidas cleats one year earlier, but had done so largely on the basis of price.  At that time, I was starting in soccer and wanted a pair of cleats but didn’t want to spend a lot of money in case I didn’t stick in the sport.

So when I was ready to replace the Adidas shoes, I did some searching and settled on the Nike T90 Strike III in leather.

Performance Features

When Nike rolled out the T90 Laser III, one of the distinguishing characteristics of it was the shot pods and swerve fins on the instep of the shoe, along with the asymmetric lacing pattern.  I figured at the time, that any technology or placement that would allow a larger ball striking surface would be to my advantage as a still-novice player.

Fit

Most of my prior shoes to this point, with the exception of my then still-recent Nike Free Run+ were size 11.  I stayed with Size 11 in this purchase and was satisfied with the fit.  No pinch points on my normal width points.

Touch

My prior Adidas cleats were TPU uppers, so I felt like the touch in the leather T90’s was improved versus my prior shoe.  The contact surfaces seem to work well – providing some settling of the ball’s rotation when receiving a pass for example.

Style

I really liked the colorway I purchased – Black and Yellow with Silver accent.  It’s distinctive without being over the top.  I added Nike’s RED laces
to the package.

Durability

The shoes have last well through weekly play over the last year, along with some training and working in the yard.  The leather where the other meets the sole plate is losing its smooth texture now.

The cleats still have plenty of life left on them.

Traction

My boots are Firm Ground version – with the molded blastic “Blade” style cleats.  The layout of the blades is very similar to most other boots.  I haven’t had any traction problems with the shoes.

What’s Next

I’m going to keep playing in this boot for now – although the new Adidas Adipure 11Pro  holds a lot of appeal for me.  I think in the future I’m moving towards a lighter weight, more “touch” or “Control” oriented shoe.

One Response to “One Year Review: Nike T90 Laser III”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Impressions: Adidas adiPure 11Pro « Be An Athlete - March 19, 2012

    […] 1.6 ounces versus prior releases. The adiPure 11Pro weighs in at 8.2 ounces. My last pair of shoes, Nike’s Total 90 III (Leather) weighed in at 10.2 ounces. This is starting to approach the weight of my running shoes like the […]

Leave a Reply

