Reversing Direction

9 Feb

Just before I graduated from college, I decided to stop eating beef.

I decided that beef, along with its saturated fat load, questionable production methods, as well as emerging health risks (Mad Cow disease) was a good thing to remove from my diet.  It was pretty easy to do, and I didn’t miss it.

A few years later pork followed suit.  I decided pork was at least as questionable – and probably equally easy to eliminate.  Probably the only meal I missed in pork was Southern Pulled Pork Barbecue.

Since my adoption of Paleo, my food attitudes have adjusted.  Back in October, real Bacon returned to my diet regularly for the first time in probably 15 or 20 years.  The world didn’t end – and in fact, my good cholesterol rose versus last year.  I’ve also mixed in a few high quality Pork shoulders, slowly smoked to my diet occasionally.  My pork source: Thompson Farms in Dixie, Georgia.  They use pastured animals, raised from infants to slaughter in the same location and have earned one of Whole Foods highest certifications for animal welfare.

It’s great to see family run farms being rewarded for raising animals well and allowing them to live as naturally as possible.  They also were quick to respond to a question I sent via e-mail.

I’m now on the verge of reversing direction on my first food exclusion – and mixing some grass-fed beef back into my diet.  I’m thinking about a large cut – like a brisket or a tri-tip for smoking.  Again, it’s another Whole Foods-certified local farm – either White Oak Pastures in Bluffton, Georgia or Brasstown Beef in Brasstown, North Carolina as the source.

Grass-fed has a lot of advantages – all originating because it’s how the animal was intended to eat.

Have you reversed direction on a specific food because of Paleo?

8 Responses to “Reversing Direction”

  1. youngcaveman February 9, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    A major thing that people, and I too, tend to reverse on Paleo is saturated fat avoidance. It stuns me now that I used to think that saturated fat was bad! Fat in general is a topic that people reverse once starting Paleo.

    • sheshredss February 10, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      I had the exact same experience. Saturated fat was always made out to be a monster when it is in fact, not! Mark Sisson has a great article on it, check it out!

  2. Shanny February 10, 2012 at 2:56 am #

    I’ve haven’t had a food reversal but I’ve reversed how I think about calories and counting them…..in that I don’t anymore. It’s very freeing. 🙂

  3. sheshredss February 10, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    What a cool journey you’re on right now! Keep up the awesome work, love your blog, eat that meat! PS- Have you done the filthy 50 yet??? Ugh, that happened today, well filthy 40 but still!

    • Dennis Murray February 11, 2012 at 1:53 am #

      I haven’t done any of the high volume workouts yet. I’m in a corporate gym where it wouldn’t work out well.

      Really appreciate the comments!

      • sheshredss February 14, 2012 at 1:05 am #

        Likewise 🙂 Keep up the good work!

  4. NatashaNatasha February 10, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    I used to avoid a lot of meat, as well, but now invest in grass fed beef and pastured pork. Also, I just signed up for a CSA for the local veggies. These are all things I would’ve been too cheap to eat before, but now consider a non-negotiable foundation!

  5. Jah. February 24, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Interesting post! I talked about cognitive dissonance in my reply to your comment from yesterday, and reading this reminds me of another issue I’m struggling with in thinking about adopting a paleo or primal diet. I was raised mostly vegetarian with fish and some dairy (no milk, but definitely eggs, cheese, yogurt, etc.). We later added poultry since it became far easier to find it organic and otherwise not laden with hormones. But my whole life is pretty much built on a food foundation of avoiding beef and pork at all costs. And even now, when I know that fats are a good part of a healthy diet, and when I know that you can buy free-range, grass-fed beef and pork just as easily as you can find free-range, organic chicken, I can not get my head around beef and pork being good for me! I’m also not ready to call out uncle to my husband, who’s been trying to convince me to start eating red meat and pork for the entire eight years we’ve been a couple, and who recently decided — on his own — to stop eating red meat and pork! (Plus, my parents would be extremely disappointed that 18 years of home training didn’t take.)

    The one thing that I am more aware of the more often I read about new findings in dietary research is the more your know, the more you know. My parents made the best decisions they could with the information they had available (which means soy had a big place in our diet growing up, when now we’re learning all these things about how bad soy is for people). So, I’m slowly opening up to the fact that there is more information available about meats, and more healthy sources of meats for purchase. BUT, the thought of ME one day grilling a steak for dinner just blows my mind — I could just as easily imagine shooting myself up with heroin, which is never going to happen. I think the red meat and pork thing is one of the major road blocks in my ability to fully accept paleo/primal as a lifestyle choice at the current time.

Leave a Reply

