I’m the age Athletes Are when their careers are done.

12 Mar

I’m 35 years old today.

I’m the age many athletes are when their careers are finished, or at least into the downward spiral that leads to being done.

My childhood sporting idol, Cal Ripken Jr. completed his milestone 2,131 consecutive game played at age 35.  After that season – he played two more seasons appearing in more than 160 games but never hit 20 home runs in a season again.

Since starting to watch the Premier League, I’ve taken a liking to Manchester United’s Paul Scholes – who retired after last season at the age of 36.  Little did anyone know at that point that Scholes would reappear for this season and play again for Manchester United.

Thierry Henry, Arsenal’s leading all-time scorer and of the New York Red Bulls the last two seasons, has proven that he has aged well – a return to Arsenal allowed him to add to his legend with the club.

So maybe there’s hope for me after all.

I’m in the best shape of my life, without doubt.  My strength numbers don’t lie – I can lift more than I ever had before.  I can run faster and further than I ever have before.  I’ve been successful in rooting out more of the bad food choices from my diet and have created the foundation for years of wellness.

Time for another record setting year.

One Response to “I’m the age Athletes Are when their careers are done.”

  1. eatsleepnexercise March 12, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Happy Birthday! Don’t forget about Randy “The Natural” Couture who will turn 50 next year. We’ve got plenty of fight left in us!

Leave a Reply

